Since its inception in 2003, “Taiwan Design Expo” has become one of the largest annual design exhibitions in Taiwan. Organized by Industrial Development Bureau, Ministry of Economic Affairs, and executed by TDC, the Expo collaborates with different a municipal governments every year through call for submissions; targeting local lifestyle, culture, and unique industrial features, the Expo utilizes design thinking to reinterpret the meaning of the new age, and presents the present and future of local design and industries through exhibitions and diverse activities, hoping to explore domestic and international issues of design and industries by curating thematic exhibitions.

Generating Influences for Local Design and Cities

With rapidly developing technology and changing social values, a coexisting, harmonious, yet contradicting relationship exists between the past and future, and traditions and modernity, of industry and life, in which “Design” plays an important role of converting and mediating. From a human-oriented perspective, and through connection of the uniqueness of a city and expertise of design, design can be utilized to examine and comb through the features of the city to reedit locality through diverse aspects and build an urban brand.

The core value of “Taiwan Design Expo” is to continuously elevate the people’s design aesthetics; combining resources of the industry, academia, and government, the Expo aims to bridge multiple parties, including industries, designers, general public, and government agencies, to turn the whole city into a stage of aesthetics. In addition to showcasing magnificent grandeur, another aim is that, after the Expo closes, all the essences and nutrients facilitated by the Expo can remain in the host city, and continue to mature, opening up another door of great influences for the host city through design.

Shu-Chang, Kung

Professor of National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

Chen-Jung, Liu

Director of BIAS Architects & Associates

Hugh, Hu

Founder of Ndd Design Tainan

Yu-fen, Lo

Director of Pinyen Creative Inc.

Cheng-che, Chen

Associate Professor of Nanhua University

Jung-Ya Hsieh

Founder of GIXIA GROUP

Wei-hsiung Chan

Founder of Business Next Magazine

Dianna Tai

Director of Lion Group Executive

Wang, Wei-Chung

Golden Star Entertainment Co., Ltd. General Manager

Taiwan Design Expo‘21 in Chiayi - City as Home

In recent years, local city modernology has become fashionable in Taiwan, and everyone is looking for their hometown. Like an epitome of Taiwan’s native cities, Chiayi city embodies the definition of “Home” through the memories of culture, city scales, and even the spirit of hospitality.

The Taiwan Design Expo '21 takes place in Chiayi this year. Through“City as Home”as the theme, the Expo thrives on reshaping Peach City's sense of belonging by reviving its bustling train station spirit, expressing its hospitality as a host, exploring, creating, and representing the definition of home. Therefore, the Expo intends to allow everyone who arrives here to become thoroughly in and out satisfied with being a guest coming “Jia” (Home) or “Chia” (of Chiayi City).

“City as Home” imagines a city with 3 concepts of home, 13 home locations, and 18 embodiments of a home. A city, homeward.

A city that feels like home
City, mountains, rivers, botanical garden, and railways.

Scale of Home

The essence of Chiayi hospitality
Warmth, geniality, life, and change.

Spirit of Home

Memories of Chiayi
Festivals, artisans, food culture, travels, and performing arts.

Memory of Home

Multiple City

A city is to homes what a home is to family. A home is composed of people with different looks and personalities. Like the city, a big melting pot, it contains and gently entertains us so rich and diverse.

The appearance of each building in a city is also diverse and intriguing. It is this diversity that creates the unique landscape of the city. Even though those constructions are different, they are still connected and combined to make something beautiful.

In the primary visual, the outline of "home" brings out the image of Chiayi as a big family. Under the home scheme, several large and small geometric units symbolize different homes in the city, thereby generating an image: City as Home! Chiayi, a city as home, welcomes you “Chia (home).” This image gives colorful colors reflecting the lovely affinity of regarding the city as home.



Note: “Home” is pronounced as “Chia” in Mandarin, con-notating that Chiayi is a city a home.

Scale of HomeScale of Home
Spirit of HomeSpirit of Home
Memory of HomeMemory of Home

Several large and small homes in the city.

The outline of "home" brings out
the image of Chiayi as a big family.

A PIECE OF STUDIO

The studio was founded by Tsengreen and is based in Tainan. It has undertaken many projects, such as the exhibition visual design team of the "The Tainan Expo Park" of the 2019 Creative Expo Taiwan, the visual design team of the 2020 Tainan New Year's Eve "Ban Xi" (Traditional Taiwanese Play), and the 2020 Double Tenth Day (National Day) image design team. In particular, over the past two years, the studio has been awarded the Golden Pin Design Award for its designs.

Tseng Kuo Chan

He is the design director of One Piece Design Studio. He has many works listed in Asian design books, such as Victionary, Design360° Magazine, Brand_Design Magazine, CUTOUT_Magazine, Sandu, and APD Asia Pacific Design Yearbook. He is currently devoting himself in the field of graphic design. In 2018, he worked with SimpleInfo Design to start an online course on logotypes at Hahow School.

With the theme " City as Home" as the core concept, we use the circle to symbolize the sunrise of Alishan beyond the silhouette of the mountain peaks. The image then jumps all the way, turning itself into another one with people shuttling through Chiayi city. Consequently, the mountain scenery mingles with the city, and the relationship between the city and the people is united. Like the image of City as Home, we use lights and shadows to subtly reflect the city's sense of time and transformation, embodying Chiayi's slow living tempo.

27design

The studio has been deeply engaged in motion design for many years. It is known for its high level of cross-disciplinary integration. It has created animations and visuals for over 100 international brands, including Disney, IKEA, Gogoro, Pinkoi, McDonald's, and Subway. It even has coordinated the 31st Golden Melody Awards ceremony visuals. It has been responsible for many national-level projects, such as the 2017-2021 National Days, World Flora Exposition, Universiade, Taiwan Lantern Festival, Taiwan Design Festival, Creative Expo Taiwan, and Citizens Sports Games. Its works are full of diversity and comprehensive styles and have been often recognized by international design awards, such as Red Dot, Golden Pint, MUSE, and IDF.

Cheng-Hsuan Lin

As the director and founder of the 27Design Studio and the co-founder of Motioner, he has been deeply engaged in motion design for many years. He has created animations and visuals for over 100 internationally renowned brands, including Disney, IKEA, Gogoro, Pinkoi, McDonald's, and Subway. He also served as the visual coordinator of the 31st Golden Melody Award Ceremony and the directors of many large-scale projects, such as the 2017-2021 National Days, World Flora Exposition, Universiade, Taiwan Lantern Festival, Taiwan Design Festival, Creative Expo Taiwan, Citizens Sports Games, and the 30th, 29th, and 25th Golden Melody Awards.


2020 2011
Next

自 2003 年起推動至今,已是台灣每年最具規模的大型設計展會之一。由經濟部工業局主辦、TDRI執行,每年以徵選方式與不同地方政府共同合作辦理,針對在地生活、文化及產業發展特色,運用設計思考詮釋新時代的意涵,並以展覽及多元的活動方式,呈現在地設計與產業的現在與未來,期能透過主題策展,探討國內外關注之設計或產業議題。

為在地設計與城市創造影響力

隨著科技快速發展與社會價值轉換,從產業到生活的過去與未來、傳統與現代之間,皆存在著共生共存的樣貌,及和諧又矛盾的狀態。「設計」正是扮演其間轉化調和的要角,從人本的需求出發,透過城市的獨特性與設計專業性連結,藉由設計力梳理城市,以多元面向重新編輯地方,打造城市品牌。

「台灣設計展」的核心價值在於不斷提升全民設計美學,深度結合產官學研之資源,搭起產業、設計師、民眾及政府單位等多方面向之橋梁,使整個城市成為一個美學舞台。展覽除了展現磅礡氣勢之外,另一層深意更是期盼在展覽落幕後,讓曾經參與其中的精華與養分,能在主辦城市裡持續發酵,透過設計為城市打開具備影響力的一扇門。

City as Home 以城為家

近年來,大眾將目光移向地方,在地城市考現學蔚為風尚,每一個人都在找尋心中的故鄉。嘉義市,像是一座台灣原鄉城市的縮影,從文化記憶、城市尺度到款待精神,嘉義市處處展現「家」的概念。

2021台灣設計展在嘉義市,以「家意 ‧ 以城為家 City as Home」,重塑一座具歸屬感的桃城,復興南來北往的驛站精神,發揮東道主的真誠款待,深掘、創造與再現家的意義,讓每個到來的人,都能從內而外的滿足成為回家/回嘉的客人。

「家意 ‧ 以城為家 City as Home」,一座城市, 3種家的概念,13處家的所在,18種家的表現,全城帶你回家。

一座像家的城市
城市、山、水、植物園、鐵道

家/嘉的尺度

嘉義款待精神
款待、接納、生活、改變

家/嘉的精神

屬於家/嘉的記憶
祭典、職人、飲食、旅行、戲劇

家/嘉的記憶

多元之都

城市之於家,就如同家之於家人;一個家的組成包含了不同樣貌與個性的人,就如同城市這座大容器,包容裝載與溫柔款待了如此豐富且多樣的我們。

城市裡的每個建築外觀也都是多元有趣的,正因為這層多元性, 造就了一座城市的獨特風景,即使彼此有些不同,但透過連結與組合,仍能成就一番光景。

主視覺中,以「家」的輪廓帶出嘉義這個大家庭的意象,在家的輪廓下有數個大大小小的幾何單位象徵城市裡不同的家,City as Home!一座像家的城市,回嘉、回家,繽紛的色彩映照出以城為家的可愛親和。

Scale of Home家/嘉的尺度
Spirit of Home家/嘉的精神
Memory of Home家/嘉的記憶

城市裡大大小小不同的家

家的輪廓
同時也象徵嘉義這座城市的大家庭

一件設計工作室

由曾國展創立,以臺南為據點,承接2019年臺灣文博會「臺南地方館」展覽視覺設計團隊、2020年台南跨年《府城搬戲》活動視覺設計團隊、2020雙十國慶形象視覺設計團隊......等多項專案。其中,近兩年更是榮獲金點設計獎設計標章的肯定。

曾國展

一件設計工作室設計總監,作品收錄於Viction:ary、Design360°雜誌、Brand_Design Magazine、CUTOUT_Magazine、Sandu、APD亞太設計年鑑等亞洲設計書籍,目前專職於平面設計領域,並於2018年與圖文不符共同於Hahow好學校開設標準字線上課程。

以主題 「家意 ‧ 以城為家 City as Home」為核心概念,以當中的圓形象徵山峰剪影外的阿里山日出,一路跳躍轉化成嘉義市中穿梭生活的人們,讓山景與城市的邊界融合交錯,也讓城與人之間的關係合而為一,如同城市之於家的意象,並利用光影的變化,巧妙體現出城市的時間感與轉變,體現嘉義的慢活節奏。

二棲設計

深耕動態設計領域多年,以高度的跨域整合力著稱,並曾為逾百家國際品牌,如:迪士尼、IKEA、Gogoro、Pinkoi、麥當勞、Subway...等操刀動畫與視覺。更曾統籌過第31屆金曲獎典禮視覺,以及擔任眾多國家級大型專案製作,如:2017-2021 國慶日、花博、世大運、台灣燈會、台灣設計節、文博會、全運會...等,作品的風格多樣與全方位,也屢次榮獲紅點、金點、MUSE、IDF等國際設計大獎肯定。

林呈軒

二棲設計導演、創辦人, Motioner 共同創辦人,深耕動態設計領域多年,曾為逾百家知名品牌,如:Disney、IKEA、McDonald、Pinkoi、Gogoro、Subway...等操刀動畫與視覺。並擔任第31屆金曲獎典禮視覺統籌,與諸多大型專案之導演,如:2017-2020 國慶日、花博、世大運、台灣燈會、台灣設計節、文博會、全運會、第30、29、25屆金曲獎等。


2020 2011
Next